Skip to main content
Discounted
Invisible Emmie (Emmie & Friends)

Invisible Emmie (Emmie & Friends)

Previous price: $15.99 Current price: $13.99
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Publisher:
Balzer + Bray
ISBN:
9780062484932
Pages:
192

Description

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut graphic novel by Terri Libenson, creator of the internationally syndicated, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries.

This is the story of two totally different girls—
quiet, shy, artistic Emmie
popular, outgoing, athletic Katie
—and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. . . .

All the crushes, humiliations, boredom, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.

Plus don't miss Terri Libenson's Positively Izzy, Just Jaime, and Becoming Brianna!

About the Author

Terri Libenson is the New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series and the cartoonist of the (now retired) award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries. Terri empty-nests in Cleveland, Ohio, with her husband, Mike. She is the proud mom of two grown daughters and a poodle. You can find her online at terrilibenson.com.

Terri Libenson is the New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series and the cartoonist of the (now retired) award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries. Terri empty-nests in Cleveland, Ohio, with her husband, Mike. She is the proud mom of two grown daughters and a poodle. You can find her online at terrilibenson.com.

Praise for Invisible Emmie (Emmie & Friends)

“This is middle grade fiction at its best. A fantastic debut novel with plenty of laughs and tons of heart. Invisible Emmie is unforgettable!” — Lincoln Peirce, author of Big Nate

“This funny and heartfelt tale will ring true for anyone who’s ever felt invisible.” — Victoria Jamieson, Newbery Honor author-illustrator of Roller Girl

“Clever, funny work by a great cartoonist. Reading Invisible Emmie sums up middle school: You laugh, you cry, you get beaned in the head with a volleyball.” — Stephan Pastis, author of Timmy Failure

“In her first children’s book, cartoonist Libenson offers strikingly different visions of seventh grade through two very dissimilar narrators. A well-executed twist will have readers flipping back to see what they missed while cheering the strides made by Libenson’s no-longer-invisible heroine.” — Publishers Weekly

“With all-too-familiar middle-school drama and an empowering lesson about speaking up and bravely facing down embarrassment, this should find an easy audience among fans of Wimpy Kid or Dork Diaries books.” — Booklist

“Many readers will recognize themselves in Emmie and her friends, who are at once self-conscious and eager to be seen for who they are. A highly relatable middle grade drama.” — School Library Journal

“Libenson’s clever tale will entertain readers in the throes of middle school as well as younger students both wary of and intrigued by their near future.” — The Horn Book